A little background…

Flash back a little over a year to where we started on this journey. I had been working out inconsistently for the previous 7 or so years, doing some aerobics and walking. I was about 30 to 35 pounds overweight and had been for some time. My body was getting really flabby as I approached my mid-forties and my energy level was dropping.

I have always had a keen interest in food and ways of eating and had been an ovo-lacto vegetarian for 20 years up until a few years ago. I’d worked in health food stores, explored many cuisines, and had become a Registered Holistic Nutritionist. This interest probably developed because I’d struggled with my weight for my entire life, along with most of my family.

I was an emotional eater, big time. Food was my drug of choice. I was feeling quite desperate in terms of getting my eating under control, and had been actively exploring diets, detox cleanses, energy therapies, and any other approach that might help me with the issue.

K. too, was overweight by about 20 to 30 pounds. The pounds had crept up over the years. K. is not an emotional eater, but a zealous food lover who will not compromise on flavor. Because of this, trying to get her to eat healthier foods like whole grains was a challenge because I had to introduce these foods to her, and quite frankly, I’m not a very good cook. Let’s just say that her exposure to these foods wasn’t under the best circumstances, and her notion of “healthy eating” literally left a bad taste in her mouth.

K. hadn’t exercised for almost two decades and had started to do some regular workouts the year before, but wasn’t getting the results for which she’d hoped. The weight was staying, and her body hadn’t changed much.

There we were, frustrated and unsure as to how to get healthier in a way that we both could live with and that would be sustainable for us. We’d been noticing the struggles of some people around us as they’d been on drastic diets (and then of course, gaining the weight back). We also observed people who were 10 to 20 years older who ate in a similar manner to us, and noticed that they were having a lot of physical complaints and doctor visits. We knew that we needed to do something now so that we wouldn’t end up like that.

Fortunately, one day a co-worker recommended a book that she’d said had completely changed her workouts, her body and her life some years ago. I picked it up at the library and just knew that this held something important for me. When I began sharing it with K., her reaction told me that this might be something that could contain the seed of an answer to our problems.  We ended up totally modifying what was proffered in the book, but it gave us an important starting point.

And so it began.

Leave a Reply

